View site in Scots
Flickr YouTube

Scots Language Centre Centre for the Scots Leid

Sangschaw Winners 2018

8th May 2018

The winners of the Scots Language Society’s Sangschaw 2018 are as follows:

Poesie (Poetry): 1st prize Hugh MacDiarmid Cup: Futrat Day by Douglas Kynoch, Runner-up Michaelangelo’s Last Judgement by Frances Robson, and Highly Commended By-ordinar Wumman by Frances Robson, The Scotch Snap by David C Purdie and Wundit by Irene Howat.

Cutty Tale (Short Story) 1st prize and Robert McLellan Cup: Ma Saicret by Irene Howat, Runner-up Watti’es Signs an Wonders by Stephen Pacitti, and Highly Commended Banana Wuid by David C Purdie, Elemental by WS Milne and Gin The Yowes Wad Eat Stanes by Iain McGregor.

Owersettin (Translation) 1st prize and John McPhail Law Cup: A Boy Biker’s Luve Sang by David C Purdie, Runner-up Ophelia by Donald Adamson, and Highly Commended Whan The Sheddaes O Nicht by Donald Adamson, Odes 1-IX by John Erskine, and Tentin the Hoose by David C Purdie.